Running WAAAAYYYY to rich - Harley Davidson Forums



Vance & Hines Vance & Hines is product design and manufacturing company that produces high quality, high margin Performance Products within the Powersports industry.

Running WAAAAYYYY to rich

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-01-2017, 08:14 AM
Star Commtrey Star Commtrey is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Boligee, AL
Posts: 209
Thanked 21 Times in 14 Posts
Exclamation Running WAAAAYYYY to rich

I have a 2014 Ultra Classic with the 103 HO.....I am upgrading the intake in the near future with something else, right now it is the original factory housing with a K&N setup. I am running a 2-1 pipe with the cat and no baffle. I am wanting to gun the cat today, but as I am already running too rich am hesitant. I am running the FP3 on the propipe tune with the high flow baffle setting. Please help, as it seems the tune is expecting a leaner setup then I am running due to the missing baffle and is over compensating. Auto tune did not seem to help at all. I am trying that again today as I have a couple hours of riding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2017, 04:37 PM
GalvTexGuy's Avatar
GalvTexGuy GalvTexGuy is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Santa Fe, TX
Posts: 1,178
Thanked 133 Times in 107 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Commtrey View Post
I have a 2014 Ultra Classic with the 103 HO.....I am upgrading the intake in the near future with something else, right now it is the original factory housing with a K&N setup. I am running a 2-1 pipe with the cat and no baffle. I am wanting to gun the cat today, but as I am already running too rich am hesitant. I am running the FP3 on the propipe tune with the high flow baffle setting. Please help, as it seems the tune is expecting a leaner setup then I am running due to the missing baffle and is over compensating. Auto tune did not seem to help at all. I am trying that again today as I have a couple hours of riding.
What makes you think you're running rich? Give V&H a call at 562-921-0071. Go ahead and upload your map before calling. I called today and got right through.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2017, 05:23 PM
Star Commtrey Star Commtrey is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Boligee, AL
Posts: 209
Thanked 21 Times in 14 Posts
Default Vh

Quote:
Originally Posted by GalvTexGuy View Post
What makes you think you're running rich? Give V&H a call at 562-921-0071. Go ahead and upload your map before calling. I called today and got right through.
V&H have been no help. Not even when I showed up at their booth at Bike week. The rep even told me I'd probably be better off with a RCXelrator. Blew my mind. But I went and put a velocity stack on it assuming I was starving for air. Did that, rode a good ride, auto tuned and it is better. Fuel mileage came way up, but when it's cold it still has issues......I'll get it right. Can't wait on VH to come around to an idea other than "Auto tune, Auto tune, Auto tune".
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Star Commtrey For This Useful Post:
GalvTexGuy (04-01-2017)
  #4  
Old 04-13-2017, 04:13 PM
Vhcneely's Avatar
Vhcneely Vhcneely is offline
Platinum Sponsor
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Santa fe Springs, Ca
Posts: 179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Commtrey View Post
V&H have been no help. Not even when I showed up at their booth at Bike week. The rep even told me I'd probably be better off with a RCXelrator. Blew my mind. But I went and put a velocity stack on it assuming I was starving for air. Did that, rode a good ride, auto tuned and it is better. Fuel mileage came way up, but when it's cold it still has issues......I'll get it right. Can't wait on VH to come around to an idea other than "Auto tune, Auto tune, Auto tune".
What truck did you visit? Who was the person you spoke with?

We design all of our maps for the use of a high flow air filter. When you initially install the map it assumes there is a high flow AC on there.This is not a problem having the stock. However, there is another feature. within the ECM called Adaptive Fuel Values. The ADV's will slowly trim out the fuel of the original map to suit to your current AC setup. When you install the new air cleaner, ADV's were set for that stock filter. This is obviously not the way you want the bike to run. So at that point of the new AC installation, we would have recommended flashing in the same map again. This would reset or zero the ADV's and allow the full potential of the map. This is all outside of the AutoTune. That is a whole other beast in itself.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FP3 WAY too rich Crazy Sportster Models 9 06-16-2017 06:35 AM
Other Devices: FP3 WAY too rich Crazy The Dyno Room 2 06-13-2017 06:00 PM
Exhaust smell after de-catting headpipe dgb Rush Racing Products 6 08-17-2015 09:35 AM
103ci knocking/ticking sound??? jprange63 Engine Mechanical Topics 0 02-05-2015 03:40 PM
hard time tuning with power vision? 37sportster Touring Models 1 02-29-2012 04:54 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: