Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

68 FLH charging issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2010, 09:26 PM
bikerbehaviorist
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 68 FLH charging issues

New build with about 30 miles on it. Original generator showed no charging on lights on solid state voltage reg. Gen not rebuildable. After some other issues (left over paint gunk in tank) I am back up and running and installed the new generator got both lights on the voltage reg. - which its instructions say is minimal charging. I confirmed this with on/off and reved up voltage checks at the battery.
Now the voltage reg. may be bad because I am a newbie with shovels - my first every bike build and did not realize that this type went on the end of the gen with the cap still on it. so the end of the shaft dug out some of the resin on the inside of the voltage reg.
With this thought in mind I measured output at the A terminal of the generator and got 14.X at idle and more with the revs higher.
So I thought I would try hooking up the original mechanical regulator. I did but it did not seem to work either I got full green at the dash light rather than pale green. So I went back to the new generator and possibly F’ed up regulator. Now I get negative volts from the generator and no lights from the voltage regulator. All I could think was that the polarity on the generator got messed up. But I tried to re-polarize the generator to no avail. Do I have to pull the generator off the bike to re-polarize - when I initially polarized it, it was not yet installed. Any ideas or help is appreciated. I can ride it around town on the battery and put it back on the tender, but I am really jonesing to ride her in further and further. Thanks in advance

Old 06-09-2010, 09:43 PM
BoomerBob
Elite HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Howdy: Even though it's been 10 years or so since I sold my '69 Shovel and 12 more years since my 'ole '65 Pan I remember this headache pretty well.