Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shocks

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2012, 08:05 PM
CharruaHD
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Shocks

I just got a set of used street glide shocks of ebay. Since I am new to the air shocks is it normal for the shocks to leak oil. They are leaking from the top connection/vavle. Would I need to refill the oil?

These will be going on a 09 Road King

Old 11-07-2012, 08:13 PM
Uncle Paul
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 38 Likes on 25 Posts

A tiny bit of oil is normal if the air pressure was released from these valves.

When reducing pressure from installed shocks, it is recommended to pump in a little fresh air first, then bleeding the excessive air. Keeps oil from getting into pump.

Old 11-07-2012, 08:44 PM
mkguitar
Extreme HDF Member
Received 395 Likes on 337 Posts

you may have a problem ..if the previous owner allowed much of the oil to leak...the smart thing is to drain and refill both shocks with correct amount of oil and the grade of your choice.

you can find instructions on the forums by searching

removed shocks should be sealed and stored upright

if only a tiny amount of oil has leaked, fine... but if unsealed by P/O you won't know.

mike

Old 11-07-2012, 08:54 PM
fabrik8r
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 31 Likes on 21 Posts

They should have been plugged before they were even removed from the other bike to keep fromm losing any oil. How can you possibly know how much has leaked out? I'd completely drain both of them and refil with Amsoil 10W shock therapy if they are pre-09 shocks , if they are 09 up shocks the 10w will be too heavy, you will have to experiment with fluid. I ended up about 60% 5w and 40% 10w Amsoil on my brothers 09. There are some threads on here about tweaking OEM shocks.

Old 11-07-2012, 09:14 PM
stupid_rope
Elite HDF Member