Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LED Signal Light Project - Long story to success...

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2013, 10:29 AM
Larry Jeffords
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default LED Signal Light Project - Long story to success...

Now I don't know about you but when I'm told something is "plug and play" I think "take out the old and plug in the new". Supposedly the conversion from regular bulbs to LED's on my 2012 Ultra Classic was PnP.

I'm no mechanic but I am comfortable with electronics, wiring and light wrench work. Recently the dealership where I bought my bike had an LED light demo and anything purchased during the demo netted 15% off.

I had already decided I wanted to do the signal lights all around. The headlight/auxiliary lights not so much. I rarely ride after dark and although the brightness and the pattern are impressive, $660 for the headlight alone is just not worth it in my mind.

So I order ambers for the front and reds for the rear - A personal preference. The instruction sheet for the fronts say "Installation procedures for the LED front turn signal lamps are the same as for OE lamps except the lamp wire terminals are inserted into the new socket housings from the kit". Could it be any simpler?

Replacing the lamps proved to be a project as you cannot get to the hex head screws easily (front or rear) with anything other than a small allan wrench. Add to that, a little loc-tite and it a 1/4 turn at a time (blindly on the rears) all the way. A real pain in the butt.