Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What did you do to your Dyna today?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2022, 03:23 AM
DynaZA
Novice
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

I said I'd post pics of my rear fender fix on the Wide Glide, well here it is. It comes with a story LOL

Got the fender back from my friendly panel shop after they closed the hole where the tail light used to go. I specifically asked them to not paint, because I enjoy playing around with things like that. I also mentioned previously that I'm not good at any of these things I'm attempting, but the enjoyment and relaxation makes up for it for me.

Got the fender back on Friday 7 Oct, started with primer and flattening the primer. Got it nice and flat and no low spots. Very happy at this stage with the progress. Needed to finish ASAP because I take my boy to school on the bike and school started again the coming Tuesday.

Fender Primed and sanded, ready for paint.

Next morning I started prepping for paint and this is where the real fun started. Somehow I got the paint mix ratios completely wrong and ended up with too much hardener, this combined with our heatwave caused the paint to splatter out. Not being a real spray painter and having limited experience troubleshooting I decided I will carry on and see what it looks like when fully covered by a few coats of paint. Well it just kept on coming out all splattery and I took that chance and hoped it would look ok. Time wasn't on my side, so it was an easier decision.