Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

V&H Straight Shots aren’t loud enough

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2021, 09:01 AM
JPR778
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default V&H Straight Shots aren’t loud enough

I’ve been riding my 2005 dyna super glide for a couple of months now, and for some reason I feel like my straight shots aren’t loud enough for me. Don’t want to completely remove the baffles, anyone ever go with the BCT Monster baffles? Have read some mixed things about them.

Old 06-11-2021, 09:18 AM
Bubba Zanetti
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 13,321 Likes on 5,680 Posts

Can you pull the baffle out and cut it down some? A lot of pipes have a long baffle in them and you can cut them off with a saw and stick them back in.

The following 2 users liked this post by Bubba Zanetti:
JPR778 (06-11-2021), touchdown (06-11-2021)
Old 06-11-2021, 11:45 AM
nevil
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 972 Likes on 735 Posts

At one point I had V&H slipons. The sound was loud but kind of high-pitched, tinny and just awful. I tried a bunch of things, including the BCT's. That was better, but still not happy with the overall result, especially considering how much the BCTs cost. Finally realized that V&H were not what they were cracked up to be and sold them.
Then I was able to get some Screamin Eagle II's. They were much better with the BCTs but for the hell of it I tried a pair of DK Customs thunder torque inserts. Cost way less than the BCTs, but sounded so much better. And the bike seemed to have better low end power. That's what I've been running for years now.
You can try cutting down the baffles like Bubba suggested, but think about those TTI's. I think you'll get a much better sound.

The following 2 users liked this post by nevil:
byersmtrco (06-14-2021), JPR778 (06-11-2021)