Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

1975 FLH electrical issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2017, 01:27 AM
MichiganMikey
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1975 FLH electrical issues

Bought a 1975 FLH and I am new to Shovel's and having some electrical issues that I need to sort out and hoping for some help from you guys. The charging system is not charging the battery when its running. I can get about 10-12 starts out of it before I gotta manually charge the battery again. I did that a couple of times but the last time I was riding it I notice the smell of burning wires coming from the headlight bucket, then eventually the headlight went out. I parked it and havnt rode it since I noticed the wires burning.

I know the usual suspects of not charging are the stator or voltage regulator. But with the additional info of the headlight wires burning and light going out completely, does that help narrow down the problem at all?

Unfortunatley I live in Japan and cant do any troubleshooting or fixing until I get home in September. Only gonna be on leave for about 3 weeks so im trying to get my ducks in a row before I get there so I can hopefully get it fixed in the first couple of day and enjoy a few weeks of riding.

Thanks in advance

Old 07-17-2017, 07:59 AM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,852 Likes on 2,419 Posts
Wink

The electrics on your bike are pretty simple, compared with modern bikes, so tracing your headlight problem should be easy enough. The headlight going out may simply be due to the charging system not regulating the voltage, which can climb to silly levels.

You are in the Tech Electrical section and will find two Stickies at the top, with details of checking your charging system. They will enable you to identify the culprit. Leave your headlight switched off or disconnected while testing your system.