86 Electra Glide fuel gauge? - Harley Davidson Forums

Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

86 Electra Glide fuel gauge?

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 01-10-2018, 07:13 PM
Meoff
Meoff is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default 86 Electra Glide fuel gauge?

I split the faring on my 86 liberty edition electric glide to do some electrical repairs and I would like to repair the fuel sending unit as the gauge always reads empty. Does the fuel sender work like a car 0-90 ohms resistance to ground? I haven't checked yet to see if 12v is present at sender as batt is disconnected. I can diagnose if I know how the system works. Any help is greatly appreciated!
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2018, 08:49 PM
Meoff
Meoff is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I did take a test light to ground and gauge went to 3/4 full which is what is in tank!
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:24 AM
larsfum
larsfum is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: On a Lake, not far from the Gulf
Posts: 1,973
Thanked 181 Times in 142 Posts
Default

Sounds like you have a faulty ground. Check the ground at the triple tree.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2018, 08:42 AM
Tom84FXST's Avatar
Tom84FXST
Tom84FXST is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Olive Branch,MS
Posts: 6,056
Thanked 563 Times in 365 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Meoff View Post
I did take a test light to ground and gauge went to 3/4 full which is what is in tank!

Sounds like the tank is not grounded...simple fix
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:29 PM
Meoff
Meoff is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I'll do a little more investigating and use tips and let ya know what I find! Thanks for the replies! Greatly appreciated!
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2018, 11:09 AM
grbrown's Avatar
grbrown
grbrown is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bedford UK
Posts: 39,399
Thanked 1,229 Times in 1,141 Posts
Cool

Sounds as if the gauge works OK, just a matter of rectifying that ground. That could be as simple as a rusty, dirty or loose contact, or a broken wire. See? Some electrical stuff is often mechanical!
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2018, 04:27 PM
Meoff
Meoff is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Okay I pretty sure it's in the sending unit! With wire disconnected it reads empty and then I touch wire to tank filler cap right beside it and goes to full. That Tells me gauge is ok, has a good ground etc.
It might be a bit before I pull the sending unit tho as it's cold out and heat on in garage. Need doors open with ventilation for a open fuel cell! I can look in tank and see the float is floating(hasn't sunk) so probably going to be on the actual variable resistor slide. Maybe I'll get lucky and contacts just need cleaned or tightened! I'll let y'all know what I find! Thanks again for the info!
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Meoff
Evo Classic Models
7
01-12-2018 07:34 AM
Mjhok
Touring Models
4
11-08-2017 06:38 AM
scooper321
Shovelhead
4
10-07-2017 09:26 AM
Hey Man
Evo Classic Models
15
10-02-2016 04:40 PM
Bigtoy302
Softail Models
0
04-19-2016 04:44 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 86 Electra Glide fuel gauge?


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: