General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New, New, New

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2017, 06:07 AM
chefnerd
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New, New, New

Hi everyone. I am located in the good ol' state of WI. I was in Milwaukee for a wedding a few weeks ago and had a couple hours to kill before the event so I decided to take a tour of the HD Museum.

Here's where things took a turn for the worst....The museum was hosting a bike rally the same day and same time (vintage festival) and to make a long story short I fell in love. Having a background in ATV's and dirt bikes since I was a little chap I had a liking to motors of all sorts. My father in law has an ultra classic that I have been able to be involved in a little bit and really enjoy the engineering and design of these bikes (I'm an Engineer myself).

Where I'm at:
#1 I don't have my license. I was told by a few guys at the rally that the learn to ride program at local HD dealerships is worth looking into for your license.

-What do you think about the HD Learn to Ride program for a guy familiar to the workings of a bike but extremely limited road time riding?

#2 I dont have a bike. I'm 6'1" and tried a DYNA around the parking lot and the fit felt well. I think Road Glides are the coolest thing since sliced bread, but buying one of those rigs is not in the question at this time. haha

-I'm sure the default is "only you can decide" which bike is good for you. However, a guy who loves this history of HD and the culture and economy it brought and still brings to the state I live in I would love to stick with a Harley for my first bike. Any comments on a good learning motorcycle would be appreciated such as; Are there certain years I should stay away from? etc..