Medallion gauge trouble speedometer - Harley Davidson Forums

Notices
General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Medallion gauge trouble speedometer

 
  #1  
Old 03-05-2018, 08:49 PM
Spec36
Spec36 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hazel Green AL.
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Medallion gauge trouble speedometer

Any one have any ideas what would cause my speedometer to act this way?
first off i put a new baker 6 speed in then at the same time I upgraded the dash with all new medallion Bagger gauges , the speedometer in first gear at about 20 is reading 80 or more by the time i hit 2nd Im 140 then it will go back to 0 and start coming back up slowly till about 50 or so then fall again..
I tried to calibrated pre the instructions @ 30 .. it did seam to save it till i tried to run back up to 50 then it went crazy again . I have checked my ground for that was the first thing we thought to check .
thanks for any help you may offer
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-2018, 07:22 AM
Bubba Zanetti's Avatar
Bubba Zanetti
Bubba Zanetti is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The wasteland
Posts: 4,720
Thanked 575 Times in 413 Posts
Default

what bike are you talking about? I had an 03 Road King that did something similar. First try cleaning the VSS. If that doesn't work you may need to replace the sensor or it could be the speedo unit is shot.
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-2018, 08:06 AM
Redoilokie
Redoilokie is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: `
Posts: 7,270
Thanked 2,796 Times in 1,675 Posts
Default

Was the new speedo plug and play, or did you have to splice connectors in? Do all the other gauges work properly?
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-2018, 01:22 PM
Spec36
Spec36 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hazel Green AL.
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

To answer the splice question yes we did have to splice into the harness all other gauges seem to work properly...
the bike is an 01 Ultra Classic that I have done a custom build on..
I also installed a baker 6-speed at the same time
I replace the speed sensor because the original one was installed with the transmission without a spacer and it chewed the end of it up I found this through troubleshooting.. I was also told that it needed 60 thousands Clarence . And believe I have achieved that
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-2018, 01:23 PM
Spec36
Spec36 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hazel Green AL.
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Now I'm wondering if I possibly got a faulty speed sensor
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-2018, 01:25 PM
Redoilokie
Redoilokie is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: `
Posts: 7,270
Thanked 2,796 Times in 1,675 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Spec36 View Post
Now I'm wondering if I possibly got a faulty speed sensor
All that speed sensor does is read notches in the exciter ring. The reason I asked about splices and the other gauges is because it almost sounds like you're getting interference from the tach circuit into the speedo circuit. No wires were pinched, everything is heat shrunk and/or taped, no bare wires anywhere?
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-2018, 06:09 PM
Spec36
Spec36 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hazel Green AL.
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Redoilokie View Post
All that speed sensor does is read notches in the exciter ring. The reason I asked about splices and the other gauges is because it almost sounds like you're getting interference from the tach circuit into the speedo circuit. No wires were pinched, everything is heat shrunk and/or taped, no bare wires anywhere?
yes everything is in heat shrink but I wondered that same thing at one point I know there is no loose wires I made sure everything was sealed ..
I used a good quality heat shrink as well , I deal with that I lot at work testing electronics for power plants
 
  #8  
Old 03-06-2018, 06:12 PM
Spec36
Spec36 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hazel Green AL.
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

From what you're saying does that mean if it is reading it all my speed sensor is good?
 
  #9  
Old 03-06-2018, 07:07 PM
Redoilokie
Redoilokie is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: `
Posts: 7,270
Thanked 2,796 Times in 1,675 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Spec36 View Post
From what you're saying does that mean if it is reading it all my speed sensor is good?
Not necessarily. Disconnect the speedo connector and pin or back probe it with a DVOM set to A/C voltage. Ride it (safety first) while monitoring the voltage. It should increase smooth and steady with speed. If it does, the sensor and circuitry are good. If you have a way to raise the rear wheel and accelerate in gear, even better.
 
  #10  
Old 03-06-2018, 07:30 PM
Spec36
Spec36 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hazel Green AL.
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I will try that I do have a lift with a center Jack that is the way I tested it previously.. it will be tomorrow evening or late tonight before I can try my wife is sick so I'm babysitting for the evening.
I understand to set voltmeter to AC . Without sitting here looking at it I do know there is three wires don't remember the colors right off but the variation of two should give me a voltage if I understood correctly
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Medallion gauge trouble speedometer


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: