General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque Wrench Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2019, 09:45 PM
Streetbobber75
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Torque Wrench Question

Bear with me guys....I'm brand new to being a subscriber/Supporter here. I bought my first Harley last June. A 2008 Street Bob. I am absolutely loving it and learning all about it mechanically. It's been cold and rainy here lately so I thought, "What better time to do some of the things I've been wanting to do to it?" Right? Well, I studied my factory Service Manual, read countless posts on these HD Forums and watched countless YouTube videos on changing out my Rocker Box gaskets. Upper and Lower. Im to the point now where I need to torque down my Rocker Housing bolts and the Service Manual says (In/Pounds). All I have are Ft/Pounds Torque Wrenches.
What is the best in/pounds torque wrench pound-rating to buy? Not brand but torque range.

Last edited by Streetbobber75; 01-04-2019 at 10:48 PM. Reason: Called the part the wrong name
Old 01-04-2019, 10:17 PM
BrandonSmith
Club Member
Received 2,227 Likes on 1,410 Posts

25-250 in-lbs is what I use and it covers anything I’ve ever done.

Out of curiosity, how many in-lbs is the spec for the rocker support plate?

Old 01-04-2019, 10:50 PM
Streetbobber75
Novice

Originally Posted by BrandonSmith
25-250 in-lbs is what I use and it covers anything I’ve ever done.

Out of curiosity, how many in-lbs is the spec for the rocker support plate?

I'm sorry, called it the wrong thing. It's the Rocker Housing bolts and the manual says 120-168 in/pounds

Old 01-04-2019, 10:55 PM
Oogie Wa Wa
Road Master
Received 388 Likes on 254 Posts