General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bikers parking on storefront sidwalks

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2007, 07:15 PM
Urban Coyote
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bikers parking on storefront sidwalks

Probably because I'm new to owning a motorcycle, I have only recently noticed and paid attention to the fact that some stores allow people to park their motorcycles up on the sidewalk at the front of the store.

I noticed this at a Wal-Mart and a couple of grocery stores.

The first time I noticed this I figured maybe they are employees who were given the priviledge, but find that the bikers were customers.

I don't see a line of bikes lined up or anything like that like it was Bike Week at the store. Just one or two.

Is there a list of stores or types of storesthat are motorcycle friendly and allow on sidewalk parking for motorcyclists or is it more of finding out by yourself or word-of-mouth which business owners don't mind if bikers ride up on the sidewalk and park their bikes instead of treating them like any other vehicle and have them park in a parking space out in the lot?

Old 08-23-2007, 07:29 PM
Fishguy001
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Bikers parking on storefront sidwalks

I'd say just park there as long as your not gonna be there very long...I'd think most businesses would just as soon you park on their sidewalks and do business with them, and leave a parking space for another customer

Old 08-23-2007, 07:29 PM
wisemx
Road Warrior
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

If you ask permission they tend to agree that it's safer for the bike, i.e. fewer thefts.

At Jonesborough's Music on the Square:
http://www.musiconthesquare.com/
I point to a spot and ask permission from the LEO's, they always say "Sure, go ahead and park it there."

Old 08-23-2007, 07:30 PM
Eyeball Kid
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 357 Likes on 252 Posts