General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Choppers -- I Just Don't Get It

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2009, 08:49 PM
Rockport
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Choppers -- I Just Don't Get It

Just cannot understand the appeal of choppers.

I look upon a notorcycle as a fantastic form of transportation, giving me a perspective while out on the road that cannot be matched while enclosed in the steel cage. However, there does seem to be somewhat of a need for practicality in ones bike. Thus the question, what is the lure of being on a bike that looks so damned uncomfortable to ride. Tall apehangers and stretched forwards just seem to put the body in such a position that anything more than a short ride to the local watering hole would be painful to say the least.

Before I started riding, I worked with a fellow that always walked like someone planted a size twelve boot in his crotch about two minutes earlier. I asked about this and he said that twenty plus years of riding a hardtail had caused the compression of several discs in his lower back.

Now before I have to put on my asbestos suit, I will say that the chopper crowd has some of the some of the best tastes in paintjobs and chrome in the motorcycle world. Just my opinion though, and you know everyone has those.

Old 01-25-2009, 08:56 PM
skip3406
Road Captain
Received 27 Likes on 2 Posts

If I have to explain it you wouldn't understand it.

Old 01-25-2009, 09:00 PM
Big Pig
Road Master
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by skip3406
If I have to explain it you wouldn't understand it.
+1

One of the coolest bikes I ever had was a 350/4 chopper back in 1975. Shoot, I've been thinking alot about buying me another one for a bar bike.

Old 01-25-2009, 09:02 PM
ezriderpgh
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts