General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about rain?

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2010, 11:12 AM
tmultra
Road Warrior
Received 593 Likes on 190 Posts
Default Question about rain?

I have been riding for about 6 years and I have drove in the rain some. This past week was my first big trip and I got caught in some rain on the interstate. My question is how do you all keep your glasses clear enough that you can see? The problem I had was with the water that collected on the inside of my glasses. It got so bad at times I would lose site of the lines on the road. Eventually I saw a walmart and went in and got some rain-x but it really didnt seem to help much. I have an ultra classic with about a 9 inch shield.

Old 08-03-2010, 11:20 AM
Jags93
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I had the same problem with my FF helmet. At one point I had to raise the shield. I suppose goggles would work better but pricey if you need a prescription cut into them.

Old 08-03-2010, 11:21 AM
WESeib
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I don't know about glasses, I wear a full faced helmet.
Usually, I just turn my head to the side quickly.
It blows the rain off so I can see.
A few minutes later, I do the same thing.

Old 08-03-2010, 11:25 AM
motorrader
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Water actually collected on the inside of your glasses? You must not have been wearing a helmet. If not, try it. Or was it more like fogging up? There are products for anti-fogging.

Old 08-03-2010, 11:29 AM
todd-67
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 3,405 Likes on 1,593 Posts

It's a problem not matter what you do. I have not found a good solution yet. I think the best option out there is a ff helmet with anti-fog on the inside of the shield.

Old 08-03-2010, 11:30 AM
Rustell
Road Warrior
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Don't use Rainex on your windshield..it is made for glass not plastic.