General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Organizing a group ride, MN 5.26.2013

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2013, 04:14 PM
One Vision
Cruiser
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Organizing a group ride, MN 5.26.2013

Hello all,

I am calling on you for some advice and maybe even participation if you are so inclined, in a ride that I am organzing.

I am a bit behind the 8 ball here as I only have 3 weeks to plan. Most resources say you should take at least 3 months, but that's just not a reality. A friend is going to loose her house and we need to raise some funds for her by June 1.

I am a manager of a restaurant and am using the resources we have here for the incentives to go on the ride, so all the swag and food etc. is pretty much taken care of.

The route is yet to be determined and should pose little to no problems, there are a lot of great 4 to 6 hour rides in the Twin Cities area.

I have questions regarding:

Should I make the donation manditory for participation?

How far should the ride go before a stop?

How long should the ride be?

What is the average pace of a given ride?

How big is too many people for a ride?

Should road captains be stationed at intervals as well as at the fore and aft of the group?

Should I contact any local clubs for participation?

Are there any legal or permit ramifications I should be aware of?

I'm not in over my head here, but I want to make sure the ride is of benefit to everyone and that it is fun, safe, and helpful to the folks who are loosing thier home.

If you are in MN and have no plans for that Sunday afternoon 5.26.2013 please send me a PM or email me at shantij13@gmail.com

After I get soem feedback here I'll advertise the ride in the appropriate forums here.

Thank you for your support!

Old 05-09-2013, 05:23 PM
mike in dallas
Road Master
Received 87 Likes on 69 Posts