Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for help customizing my bike!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2015, 03:53 PM
DevilDoctor
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for help customizing my bike!!!

Hello everyone, just registered on here today. I am a navy veteran who was a medic/corpsman for infantry marines, as I served in Iraq twice.

I have a 97 Fatboy and am interested in changing the stock front and rear tires/wheels. I really like the look I see alot of Road Kings have that have the 21" DNA Diamond cut fat daddy spoke rims. I also like the look of the Klock Werks smoothed fenders.

I am completely new to the idea of doing this so please do not take that I know anything for granted. I am looking for information as to by doing such a conversion, how my bike will handle different, how much cost will be potentially associated with it, etc. Again, I am wanting to convert the stock size rim to a 21", possibly change the fender, and do the same to the back.

My profile picture is my bike currently as it is. Any suggestions/advice is welcome and thank you in advance! Josh

Attached Thumbnails Looking for help customizing my bike!!!-harley.jpg  
Old 06-08-2015, 10:40 AM
Dogs57
Tourer
Received 80 Likes on 52 Posts

First off, thank you for your service to this country. I had a 1991 Fatboy that I customized before I bought my Night Train. You have a nice looking bike. Converting to a 21 inch front wheel won't adversly affect the handling one bit. It will feel a little bit different at first but then you'll get used to it. You'll probably need a new front fender or you could get spacers to raise the stock fender. Only problem with that is you'll have a skinnier front tire under a fender that is much wider than the wheel. The more parts you buy the more it is going to cost you. Good luck and safe riding.

Old 06-08-2015, 11:12 AM
DevilDoctor