Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Customization Process on '08 Rocker C...

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2010, 09:11 PM
hispeed
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Customization Process on '08 Rocker C...

This is a bit long but I'm fired up about getting this far... hope you enjoy and have suggestions...

I'm having my tins and oil tank painted with a custom paint job and took some teardown pics to capture the process. I did all the diassembly and almost all of the cutting and welding myself on the fenders. This is my first attempt at this much work on the bike. I've done almost all the mods to it so far except the pipes install, oil pressure guage, and oil cooler install which was done by the stealer to ensure the warranty is good. Other than that it's all me... I just hope it all goes back together as easy as it all came off...

Completed by me:

- Cut rear fender to current design (chain drilled it to make it easier)
- Fab'ed and Welded additional tab onto point of rear fender to stiffen it up
- Cut rear of the front fender to match rear fender design (it's the little things that set it off you know...)
- Welded Front fender mount (barely any warping cuz I applied wet towel after every weld)
- Shaved front fender rivets and plug welded them (skim coat will take care of the little perosity)
- Fab'ed a 2" riser for the tank and welded it on but these pics only show the tack welds during fab process (didn't like the looks of the piece that could be bolted on and since I had the welder I figured why not go for the complete custom look)
- Pulled the harley emblem off the tank to have the recess welded over (painter is going to do this welding)