Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fat Boy Lo/ "Fees"

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2011, 06:40 PM
Pezzy
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fat Boy Lo/ "Fees"

Hey everyone.

I had posted here not too long ago; I'm new to this web site/ forum, and, new to Harley's in-general. Here's the thread if you want to see:

https://www.hdforums.com/forum/softa...new-to-hd.html

I came across a 2011 Fat Boy Lo, previously owned. I inquired and found out that it's all stock, no customs put on. The dealer claims it's in "mint" condition; it has almost 9,000 miles on it.

They're asking $16,885 for it.

The MSRP on a NEW 2011 Fat Boy Lo is $16,299.

I realize that the letter "S" in MSRP stands for "Suggested", and that they (the dealers) don't have to go by it, but,........

I e-mailed the dealer and emphasized the fact that this bike is used and has almost a year's worth of driving miles on it. And, just like any vehicle, as soon as it's purchased and driven off the lot it goes down in value (meaning, whoever put these 9,000 miles on it).

The dealer just came back with, Harley's hold their value well.

But still.....a new 2011 stock Fat Boy Lo's MSRP is $16,299, and this previously owned 2011 stock (with almost 9,000 miles) is going for $16,885??

They're asking above MSRP and it's used with many miles on it?

Here's a link for it:

http://www.arrowheadharley.com/new_v...03&pov=2192720

And while I'm here:

When closing a deal at a dealership and filling out the final paperwork, there are those "fees" tacked on in addition to the sticker price: sales tax, title & tags, documentation fee.

I've read here on these forums that there are some "BS" fees out there to try to avoid if you can; some examples are:
Shipping fee
Assembly fee
Dealer prep fee