Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New 1200 custom 2017

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2017, 11:03 PM
Wizardofaus
Road Warrior
Received 230 Likes on 173 Posts
Default New 1200 custom 2017

Hi group. I'm new to Harley's but been riding bikes of all sorts since 10 years old Just brought myself a new 2017 custom 1200 and I'm looking to install a stage 1 kit after it's 1000 mile service any suggestions. Nothing real loud. Just the nice Harley rumble is what I'm looking for
ferther note any of you guys found the 1200 's have really long gearing especially in 5th and has anyone dropped the front belt sproket ( read ) pully down in size a coupe teeth ?
glad to be a member of this group
cheers Colin

Old 04-09-2017, 11:09 PM
Yamaharley
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 545 Likes on 421 Posts

When I had my buell I had a bigger front sprocket I would throw on for highway trips. Didn't take long at all, should be just as easy to go down in size but the speedo might be off a bit. Congrats on the bike by the way.

Old 04-10-2017, 12:56 PM
oldguyriding
Cruiser
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

I just did a Stage 1 upgrade on my 2017 Sportster 1200C. I did the Stage 1 intake from H.D., the Screamin Eagle Street Cannon slip-on mufflers, and the Screamin Eagle Pro Street Tuner. Did the work myself and everything turned out fine. I like the sound of the mufflers. Just the right amount of rumble and not too loud. Also accelerates better.

Old 04-10-2017, 02:20 PM
mrhammer2u
Elite HDF Member
Received 1,359 Likes on 930 Posts

What did you used to ride?
I'd say do your power mods and see if that satisfies you. If you go down tooth you might be wishing you had a 6th gear on the highway.

If I had the loot I'd hop up gears 1-4. 5 is perfect for me.

Old 04-10-2017, 09:34 PM
Wizardofaus
Road Warrior

Originally Posted by mrhammer2u
What did you used to ride?