Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2014 Iron surging. Please help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2017, 12:46 PM
vamgnt
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool 2014 Iron Engine Problem. Surging.

Hi,

I am relatively new to motorcycles and have little knowledge/experience fixing and troubleshooting. Let me try to explain what the issue I am ahving.

I bought a brand new 2014 Iron 883 three years ago. Rode the bike for 1 year, installed Vance and Hines air filter and exhaust. I changed the map using SE super tuner (I purchased an 883 to 1200 conversion kit that included SE super tuner on black Friday form a local HD dealer. Let's call them Dealer#1.) The bike ran fine, but I had deceleration popping and I wanted more power…

In 2016, once the factory warranty expired I had the same local dealer where I bought the 883-1200 conversion kit install it. The kit also included the heavy-duty clutch spring and cams.

I picked up the bike with the 1200 kit installed, and rode it home. The bike did not run well: it sneezed, surged and had low power and felt too hot. I thought it was due to the fact that it needed the 500 miles break in period after engine work, so I took it easy and rode it with low rpm. Meanwhile, I played around with maps and got it to run a little better (June 2016.) After 500 miles, things did not improve much, so I took it back to the dealer#1. They changed the map and recommended a dynotune. After the map was changed, the bike ran better: the surging stopped, there was occasional sneezing, deceleration popping and it seemed like it was overheating.