Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

48 with heavy breather and short shots

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2013, 09:38 PM
JonnyLew
Tourer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 48 with heavy breather and short shots

Hey Everyone Im New to the HD scene..been in the sportbike scene for a few years..actually fully rebuilt my 2000 zx9r frame off and crank up rebuild on the engine..soo performance add ons are nothing new but...I havent taken delivery of my 2013 forty eight because its awaiting mods...i want the heavy breather and short shots...dealer says they have to dyno and all for short shots..i read online you can get away with the stage one calibration for the heavy breather alone then buy aftermarket and install with no pops or backfires...true? any help would be great..and im excited to join the HD brother and sister hood

Old 06-02-2013, 09:21 AM
ib5150
Elite HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Welcome to the Forums, rule of thumb is you can change one (intake or exhaust) without adjusting the lean condition so a lot of members say, but the motor is running lean right out of the box so in my view I feel even leaving the bike with stock parts it still should be brought out of the lean condition. That being said, I have read many articles on the Short Shots and the above "Rule of Thumb" seems to not apply to those pipes, so adding them alone without upgrading the intake the dealer is correct at least from what I have read.

If you Stage 1 the intake and pipes (or just add short shots) then a tuner is advised and the best way to adjust the tuner is a dyno.

Old 06-02-2013, 11:11 AM
JonnyLew
Tourer