Support for The Troops and their Families This is the place to give and get information about Support for our Troops and their Families.

In Iraq...never ridden...too difficult?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008, 07:46 PM
AH64DMatt
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default In Iraq...never ridden...too difficult?

Hello all...
I'm a Apache pilot currently serving my 2nd tour in Iraq (4 years of flying...2,000 hours, 1,200 Combat thus far, with 6-8 months remaining on this tour.). I've always wanted to own a bike, but it never felt like the right time. I always had new training events coming up, or I was TDY, or deployed. Well, now I find myself sitting in my CHU, dreaming about owning a Night Train or Fat Boy. The only question I have is this...

Would it be stupid to buy a brand new Harley from AAFES while I'm here? I don't know how to ride, but I'm not going to sit ***-in-Seat without the Motorcycle Safety Course. I have an extreme desire to own a Harley when we get back, and I want to go about it the right way. I don't want to be that jackass who gets a bike and wrecks it in the parking lot of the dealer! I'm open to any suggestions. Thanks for your time
Matt

Old 02-27-2008, 09:40 PM
kudzu35
Road Master
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: In Iraq...never ridden...too difficult?

Learning is easy. If you can fly a bird or drive a stick you can ride a bike. Controlling the ego is the important part Chief. Ego being that right hand on the throttle. Get the bike you want, take your time learning. I would recommend the Harley folks in Iraq because they'll be able to get all the deals and custom stuff you want.

My suggestion? Think Fat Bob

Old 02-27-2008, 09:55 PM
overhead
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 15 Likes on 7 Posts

Thanks for your service. If you can fly that Apache in combat I have a feeling the motorcycle will be easy. Though I must admit some mornings at rush hour you would think all the cages on the road are on a suicide mission to kill me