The General Motorcycle Forum Talk about motorcycles that are not Harleys in here
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Full Face Helmet?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2010, 09:23 PM
Sekhemempet
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Full Face Helmet?

Alright, I'm sure there are plenty of helmet related threads here, but here's another.
I've been riding for a few years now, and I've always worn a half helmet. I live in SC, which is a "no helmet required" state, but I always told myself that I'll wear at least a half helmet for safety while still enjoying the breeze. I've always found it comfortable in the southern heat and humidity, so I never really felt the need to go without it. Well, recently a friend of mine found himself involuntarily flying over his handlebars. Fortunately he was wearing a full face helmet because the "chin" part of his helmet took the brunt of the impact with the pavement. This really woke me up with regards to my own helmet choice. Now before everyone starts typing at me, I'm not trying to push an agenda here. I'm in full support of helmet optional lifestyles, and I'm not trying to open that can of worms. But I've decided to invest in a full face helmet myself now that I saw what might happen if I had the same type of accident.

So... to the point of this thread. I was hoping I can get some ideas on what brands and things to look for when I'm shopping. I've heard arguments against full face helmets.. like not being able to hear as well... or visibility is limited... I'm wondering if these are true complaints or just excuses to not wear one. I asked my friend who had the accident about it.. and his best advice was "just try em out and get the one you like"... I'm hoping for more help than that.

any ideas, comments, suggestions are welcome.
Thanks!

Old 10-06-2010, 09:28 PM
DynaWide42
Cruiser