Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to HD...What are the basics?

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2021, 02:11 PM
Ewing
Novice
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Question New to HD...What are the basics?

Hello everyone,

I'm new to H-D, but not new to bikes. Usually had Japanese crotch rockets in my past.

My father in law bought a new to him 2011 Electra Glide Ultra Limited and he was awesome enough to hand down to me his 2000 Electra Glide Standard carb, not EFI. I've been trolling the forums for a while trying to learn some stuff and I now have some questions. I don't plan on doing anything too crazy yet, but did want to know from the knowledgeable here, what should be the basics to do for performance? What are the things you'd call "bolt-on" upgrades that don't involve heavy shop work? The bike already has Rinehart exhaust. Is there a "go to" intake (or is it air cleaner?) that is a community consensus to put on this bike? What other easy performance upgrades are there to do on this bike? It is very low miles for a 2000 (53K) and in excellent shape.

Besides performance bolt-ons, I know I want to upgrade the standard lighting on it all around. I'd like to upgrade it all to quality LED's. I see the pricey Custom Dynamics stuff. Is there anyone else I should check out? I imagine this model is not CAN BUS compatible, so am I looking at taking it to a shop for custom wiring to make the LED's work properly?

Finally, anything else on a very well taken care of 2000 FLHT Electra Glide Standard that I should do?

All help is appreciated. I hope I'm posting this in the right section.

Old 06-29-2021, 03:04 PM
Grand HDF Member

Received 5,429 Likes on 2,242 Posts

Read, learn, and ride. It will all come to you when you get some time on the bike, just don't buy cheap stuff or you'll do it twice.