Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

can anyone explain the stage 1 dowload?

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2010, 01:30 PM
Toe Knee
Road Master
Received 87 Likes on 47 Posts
Default can anyone explain the stage 1 dowload?

I realize that the stage one download will raise the rev limiter to 6500. I also know that it will help re-calerbrate the fuel tables to help compensate for a higher flowing air cleaner but am i correct in saying that the fuel/air ratio will still be out of wack and epa compliant?
Also-can anyone give a quick run down on each SE tuners and how they work? Ie-where the calebrations come from and if a dyno run is needed? Thanks-tony

Old 11-23-2010, 03:11 PM
hellmut73
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Well I am no techie, but I will give you my understanding.

The stage one download will enrich the air/fuel mix to accommodate the addition of a high flow air cleaner and high flow exhaust. But this download is very generic. It is not specific or "tuned" as if you were to use a Power Comander or SERT. I have owned both tuners and they both have pluses and minuses. That is a whole other thread.

As for the SE tuners I believe there are two. A Screaming Eagle Race Tuner and Screaming Eagle Street Tuner. I would recommend the Race Tuner. If you look around on the internet you can find a SERT for the MSRP of a Street Tuner. I don't have any experience with the Street Tuner but it sounds like you still need the dealer to be involved (to simply download maps, which they will charge you for). The SERT works either by map and auto tune (some maps included on program disk), or Dyno. If you are looking for a tuner DynoJet (makers of the Power Commander), have a new tuner coming out that looks awesome. There is a thread on here somewhere or you can check it out on the fuelmoto website.