Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Making a lighter(weight) ultra ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2011, 10:03 PM
legendzzz
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Making a lighter(weight) ultra ?

I am getting a little older every day and the weight on my Ultra is always making me think of getting rid of my bike for a lighter (SG) ?
Has anyone thought of ways to make the 930 lb monster lighter? I mean has anyone tried to get the weight off by buying Carbon Slip-Ons or take off chrome items and put on plastic items in their place ? Is it even worth it to try or just buy the lighter Tourer.
Or maybe I am just a MAD SCIENTIST , I do come from the 60's , LOL!
Thanks for your answers in advance

Old 01-29-2011, 10:09 PM
byersmtrco
Supporter
Received 492 Likes on 343 Posts

They are a little top heavy huh? Plus the overal weight.

StreetGlide lighter (no tour pack) and lower slung w/shorter shocks, but doesn't ride as nice.

Maybe a Heritage w/air ride and a tour pack. They are lighter AND lower. You will sacrifice the ride quality.

Old 01-29-2011, 10:21 PM
MadScot
Cruiser

What I've done is made mine convertible. Make the tourpak and lowers detachable. Then you can remove or change any item you like such as saddlebag guards, seats, bumpers etc. The suspension could also be lowered like a Streetglide but that's not convertible.

I strip mine down for solo or round town riding. But I can put the comfort stuff back on for trips. It does make a difference with the weight and balance of the bike.

Old 01-29-2011, 10:32 PM
BadPiggy
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Sell your lowers and tour pack.
Instant Street Glide.

(BTW...I'm looking for a set of vented fairing lowers)

Old 01-30-2011, 01:11 PM
legendzzz
Road Master