Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Let the teardown begin (cam swap)

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2011, 05:05 PM
cruzmisl
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Let the teardown begin (cam swap)

Well after months of thinking about the whole cam swap project I finally got off my *** and decided to do it. The labor was holding me back because its expensive and I don't trust people. With all the posts on here and the fact I only needed to buy a few tools (to replace the bearings) I think I'll be OK. While I'm not a mechanic I'm not an idiot either. I figured the SE compensator swap went off without a hitch so this should be no different.

Cam choice is the worst decision to make. Everyone has their favorite and opinion. There's a dizzying array of choices. Once you decide on a cam you read something that makes you second guess yourself. I believe if you stick with the popular ones there really isn't a wrong choice. I figured if I do the swap myself and I don't like it then I can just take it out.

So I decided on a Cyclerama 575 cam. I saw some reviews and dyno charts and in my gut kept going back to that cam. The other option was a 555. The dyno charts I saw showed the 575 to come on a little sooner than the 555 and had over 100ft.lbs of torque from 2-5K.

I'm also installing a Dragos SCS 2 into 1 header that should add some decent power too. I sent the ECM back to Revolution Performance for the reprogram so we'll see how well the EMS system works with this set up. Andrew doesn't think there will be an issue. I debated about changing the lifters though. Some say you can leave the stockers while others say they already have a wear pattern and should be replaced. I have over 10k miles so for the $150 and extra hour labour I figured I'd replace them (only for piece of mind).