Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

Question on Primary Oil Change

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2014, 11:50 AM
trike1
Cruiser
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Question on Primary Oil Change

Ok guys, I got a question on the amount of oil in the primary chain case. I have a 11TG with a 103 and in the owners manual it says to add 38 fl. oz when doing a change. A note states, to add 45 fl oz after service that involves removal of the primary chain case cover.
Am I missing something, what about the other 7 ounces?
Won't the new oil going in, get contaminated with the 7 oz of the old oil sitting somewhere in the primary? ( ie, metal shavings, moisture, etc.)

I'm not a mechanic and trying to figure this out.

Thanks

Old 02-15-2014, 07:12 PM
lboos
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by trike1
Ok guys, I got a question on the amount of oil in the primary chain case. I have a 11TG with a 103 and in the owners manual it says to add 38 fl. oz when doing a change. A note states, to add 45 fl oz after service that involves removal of the primary chain case cover.
Am I missing something, what about the other 7 ounces?
Won't the new oil going in, get contaminated with the 7 oz of the old oil sitting somewhere in the primary? ( ie, metal shavings, moisture, etc.)

I'm not a mechanic and trying to figure this out.

Thanks
Just like your car on an oil change you will never get it all out, unless you drop the pan and clean the pan and eng. block etc.