Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

Super newbie, need encouragement.

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2008, 05:48 PM
tbronson
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Super newbie, need encouragement.

Hi everyone, I'm Travis.

I'm a 27 year old student at the University of Kansas (go Jayhawks!), and have been in love with Harley-Davidson motorcycles my whole life. Around here, lots of people ride scooters to campus. I have never owned a scooter or a motorcycle before. I was going "scooter-lookin'" with the girl-friend today when I saw her:

A 1975 175 SX (AMF). They are asking $900...

Everyone rolls there eyes when I tell them it's my first bike, I don't know how to ride, etc. This bike seems like fun, not too powerful, not too weak, a good project to learn about fixin' up bikes.

I put $100 down so they would save it for me until Monday. They told me it's not like a regular "real" road bike, But I'm falling in love with it!

Will someone either tell me it's a good first bike to learn on, and a good bike for getting around campus / town. Or that it's a horrible decision and I should get my money back and look for something else. I really am excited about my first bike, but I don't want to make a big mistake. For a thousand bucks I don't see how bad a mistake it would be though...

Thanks everyone, I just got home and this is the first forum I came to. I look forward to hanging out with you all on the intertubes and maybe the interstates one day too!

Travis.

P.S here is a pic of the same model:

[IMG]local://upfiles/54469/6D9DF5B1F342469092EFB7DB861259BE.jpg[/IMG]

Old 03-01-2008, 06:10 PM
ss377
Road Captain
Default RE: Super newbie, need encouragement.