Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How "early" does your clutch lever grab?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2007, 11:25 PM
hogdad
Road Captain
Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts
Default How "early" does your clutch lever grab?

05 Electra Glide- Trying to get a feel for how/where your clucthes grab. Mine starts to grab afterabout 35% of the lever travelcoming off of holding the clutch in. Its nottoo bad but with thebars turned almost to full lockon tight turns sometimes I just release the lever a wee bit and it doesn't grab fast enough and I have to put my foot out to save the bike. I'm talking about realslow speed manuvers. I wasn't going to say but I will -I am a Police Officer (14 years)and we have 3 Roadkings in our fleet but I am NOT a motor Officer. I haven't had a chance to grab one of the wheel guys and ask but I did stop at Harley dealer by me and the service manager came right out and quick rode it and said Yeah its completely normal-all the cops,the staties and your guys complain about it- he said its not a cable adjustment it has to be done in the derby cover and basically taken "out of spec" to make it engage sooner. Anyway my point is our wheel guys had to go for rigorous training with Philadelphia cops and they had to learn threshold braking, locking up the front wheel then releasing and squeezing-very little rear brake at all. Most of them went down at least once during training.These guys can drag floorboards while doing a constant dizzying tightcircle over and over again. I know all of them and they couldn't do that before the training. They rode the bikes up and down stairs- in deep water. My Dept will not send any of us for training anymore because the bikes got a lot of damage and dents, the instructor knocks the bike over and "teaches you how to pick it up correctly". Anyone else on the clutch