Notices
2018+ Softail Models Breakout

Slip ons compared

 
  #11  
Old 01-10-2019, 11:01 AM
Hdbkstl's Avatar
Hdbkstl
Hdbkstl is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 256
Thanked 44 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DK Custom View Post
I wouldnt need a tune if i did just this on my 114 would I. I am planning on getting a full system later this year, but this would be a cheap way to live with what I have until then. I don't want to screw my motor up though.
 
  #12  
Old 01-10-2019, 02:40 PM
DK Custom's Avatar
DK Custom
DK Custom is online now
Platinum Sponsor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Red Banks, Mississippi
Posts: 15,029
Thanked 1,574 Times in 1,104 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Hdbkstl View Post
I wouldnt need a tune if i did just this on my 114 would I. I am planning on getting a full system later this year, but this would be a cheap way to live with what I have until then. I don't want to screw my motor up though.
That is correct, if you pull the baffles and put the Thunder Torque Inserts™ in you do NOT need to tune/reflash. The M8's do not have the lean problem the Twin Cams do. Of course, any M8 will run stronger/better with a good tune, even if it is bone stock, but no damage to the engine if you don't.

Here is a LINK to a report on the M8 engines, part of which shows the AFR and the ability of the ECM to adjust to varying conditions.

 
__________________
Kevin

DKCustomProducts.com
Call: 662-252-8828
Text: 662-420-4891
Email: [email protected]


  #13  
Old 01-25-2019, 05:03 AM
ryday
ryday is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

So, does the ECM on the M8 use data from the O2 sensors to adjust the air to fuel mix? And if so, won't I get an error message if I add a high flow intake and remove the caffles(first time I've seen the catalytic converters in the baffles, so I gave them a name. You can have that one at no charge.)?
 
  #14  
Old 01-26-2019, 10:50 AM
DK Custom's Avatar
DK Custom
DK Custom is online now
Platinum Sponsor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Red Banks, Mississippi
Posts: 15,029
Thanked 1,574 Times in 1,104 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ryday View Post
So, does the ECM on the M8 use data from the O2 sensors to adjust the air to fuel mix? And if so, won't I get an error message if I add a high flow intake and remove the caffles(first time I've seen the catalytic converters in the baffles, so I gave them a name. You can have that one at no charge.)?

Yes, the ECM adjust based on the o2 sensors, real time, plus it make trim adjustments that are active while in open loop. No, you will not get an error message, this is what the ECM does as a matter of course.

Will it run better if you use a tuner? Yes, but it is not necessary to avoid problems, like on the Twin Cams.

This report has data and charts showing the M8 is completely different than the Twin Cams in regards to the AFR NOT being too lean from the factory like the TC's. LINK to report.

Copy and paste of just one of the charts from report link above-

 
__________________
Kevin

DKCustomProducts.com
Call: 662-252-8828
Text: 662-420-4891
Email: [email protected]


  #15  
Old 01-26-2019, 10:56 PM
Vrizzo's Avatar
Vrizzo
Vrizzo is offline
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Watertown SD
Posts: 58
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default

And for real world comparison here’s the before and after On my slim, so the 107 from stock to a stage 2 torque kit, SE slip ons, extreme air intake and tuner just so you have an ideal
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: