Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Right Speaker Goes In/Out

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2016, 04:47 PM
DaveNBPT
Road Master
Received 80 Likes on 69 Posts
Default Right Speaker Goes In/Out

Did an speaker/amp(BT7P1.14/BT4180) install on my 15' ultra limited at the end of last year. Shortly after the riding season started, I noticed right speaker distortion and it would cut-out every so often. Sometimes it's fine, other times its not. I finally removed the outer fairing today to have a look. I figured I'd easily spot a loose connection, but there is nothing obvious (to me). I am a novice at best here and could use a little help. Unfortunately, I probably won't be able to take a crack at this again until this coming weekend. Thanks.
Dave

Not sure if these pics help:

Old 08-07-2016, 05:05 PM
tesnevo
Club Member
Received 94 Likes on 78 Posts

Check your RCA cables going into the amp. Has the same issue and the RCA cables were shorting against the amp chassis. With the fairing off and radio on, move the RCA ends at the amp and see if it happens. If it does then that's the issue.
I ended up pulling my RCA ends away just a hair and put a small dab of silicone between the RCA and amp. MAKE SURE YOU DO THIS WITH THE RCA PLUGGED IN AND SLIGHTLY PULLED BACK TO MAKE SURE ITS NOT CLOSE ENOUGH TO SHORT ON THE AMP CHASIS.

If this doesn't work, I don't know what to tell you...

Old 08-07-2016, 07:42 PM
hbsoldier3
Elite HDF Member

Received 796 Likes on 623 Posts

I had the same issue, it was a bad speaker. Biketronics warrantied a replacement.

Old 08-08-2016, 09:51 AM
Biketronics Inc
Former Sponsor
Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts

Hi All,