General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What to do, what to do?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2006, 10:49 PM
dhutchison
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default What to do, what to do?

I'll warn you now, that this could be lenghty. Don't feel obligated to read all this crap. I'm more/less thinking out loud, but any input would be great. I'm fairly new to the General HD chat area. Most of my time has been spent in the Touring Section. So, for those of you who may not be familiar with me, I own a car/motorcycle dealership. It's a family business that my Grandfather started in 1960, my Dad has been here since 73, and took over in 81 when his father passed. I grew up in the business and have been here since 1997 when I graduated. Dad took it to a certain level since 81, likewise I've taken it to a different level with the introduction of used bike sales, internet buying and selling, etc. We're a small dealership doing about 4.5 Million in annual sales. That's no big number compared to some places, but still a heck of a lot of work for 2 people. Small business has changed over the years, and not for the good. If you run or work in a small business, you know what I mean. Expenses are way up, and profit is way down. I'll spare all the details, but recently I have been thinking about going to work for someone else. Good help is so hard to find. It's an old statement, but so very true. I'm to the point that I'd rather be that good help to someone who will compensate me well, than try to do my job along with everyone elses. I've mentioned it to my Dad, but not to anyone else. Out of the blue today, the owner of 4 H-D dealerships calls me up and asks me if I would be interested in being a "Floating General Manager" for his stores. My home store would be the one closest to me, and I would travel to a couple other stores on days when their GM was off. It sounds like a job that some woul