Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about running lights

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2009, 02:49 AM
LagunaS2K
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about running lights

Hello guys...

i am new to HD's, i purchased a used '91 HD in real good condition but it has real old running lights which are very dim.

I have upgraded my sealed beam with a Hella H4 Driving lamp and swapped out the Halogen with a HID.

I wanted to know if some one makes the smaller running lights that are not sealed. something with a removable bulb so i can possibly swap the halogen for HID running lights.

My goal is to run all HID lights so i can actually see at night and people in Los Angeles will not only hear this bad boy come but see it at night so they know to GET OUT OF THE WAY!

Thanks in advance....

P.S. i have a spare H4 HID kit up for sale since i only needed one for the main beam.

Old 01-15-2009, 02:56 AM
LagunaS2K
4th Gear

here is a picture of my problem... i have searched almost every website that i know (it's not much since i am new to HD's) and most sights don't say if you can simply swap out the bulb.

Old 01-15-2009, 07:02 AM
In Memoriam Citoriplus
May our Moderator Rest in Peace
Received 25 Likes on 14 Posts

You can get new lamp bulb kit from HD for around $70 that has replaceable halogen bulbs in them But I think your going to be out of luck trying to upgrade a light that small with a true HID setup. There just isn't a hell of a lot of room in there for the transformer and such. But if you got one of the newer setups you could replace the bulbs with something like a PIAA or maybe a Sylvania Silverstar replacement that's brighter than the ones you have now by a long shot.