Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Road King versus XL 1200 C Sportster - medical issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2011, 08:59 AM
lencap
Cruiser
Received 12 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Road King versus XL 1200 C Sportster - medical issues

I sold my Softail Deluxe and Heritage Classic years ago due to health problems. Now that things are getting better I'm interested in getting another bike. I won't ride much - probably under 2500 miles a year - and I'm reluctant to invest a lot of money into a bagger, especially given my uncertain riding future due to health issues.

I'm attracted to a 2008 XL1200 C anniversary edition available from a private seller, but I have no experience on a Sportster. The bike is priced right and looks fine. Lots of people tell me that I'll be disappointed, especially coming from a larger bike. Yeah, I've heard all of the BS about Sportsters being "chick bikes", but after my surgeries the weight of a big bike is an issue.

So, the question: For those of you who have a Road King is the bike a fun ride for short around town rides? Does the weight affect how you ride or give you handling issues? How do you compare it to other Harleys that you've ridden or owned - especially a Sportster Classic (with the 21" wheel, not the fat front tire that seems to be everywhere these days)?

I also used to ride two up with the wife, but she doesn't enjoy riding as much any longer - arthritis (getting old sucks). So any bike I get will be mostly one up riding - another reason for looking at the lighter weight, easier to handle Sportster.

Finally, despite my attraction to the Sportster, I still would love to have a Road King (not classic - I like the locking fiberglas bags). Anyone who has had both the Sportster and the Road King I'd really love to hear your thoughts about each bike.