Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

Tri Glide Check Engine

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2023, 07:42 PM
Stogey65
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tri Glide Check Engine

I have a 2012 Tri Glide Ultra Classic, that I call TriPod, that I bought 2 years ago. It had 4,000 miles on her and now there is 11,000 miles on her. I had the 10,000 mile service done by a very reputable Harley Mechanic and she was running great. I just came back from a 5 day trip and I might have done a bonehead move. I used the reverse to back up an on ramp to avoid a traffic tie up. I did it in short bursts but at least one of those was about 30 feet. Now when I try reverse it just clicks and I have a check engine light. I reset the breaker and still no joy. We just moved down to Gonzales County and I don’t have a mechanic I know/trust here. I am a retired engineer and can do maintenance like changing the tires out and balancing them or even some electric repair if I need to replace the reverse motor or do the rebuild. Would like to take it to a reputable mechanic locally to get a diagnosis about the engine check light as this symptom doesn’t appear on the troubleshooting charts when losing reverse. By the way, I’m 66, retired and have very bad knees so sometimes reverse is a must. Any help or recommendations would be appreciated.

Gary

Old 10-09-2023, 09:11 PM
2AMGuy
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,536 Likes on 1,626 Posts

Well, as the saying goes "hindsight is 20/20" and I'm sure that you now know that abusing your electric reverse (and battery) was a bad error.

That said, it's likely that you will may need a new battery and/or rebuild or replace your electric reverse motor (or have it done).