Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rockford amp issue draining battery when key off

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2022, 05:05 PM
Mitch Wing
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rockford amp issue draining battery when key off

Think I posted this in the wrong forum so posting it again here..

Hopefully someone can give me some ideas on this issue... A little background on myself, I'm an electrical engineer and have installed many car stereos over the years.. I have a 2017 SGS, bought it with the rockford T400x4ad and speakers installed already. Lately, the battery has been going dead when the bike sits even with the tender on. Finally i had enough and started troubleshooting. First i removed the fairing and monitored the states of the amplifier relative to IGN position. In ACC or IGN mode the amp turns on, when the switch is off amp goes off, at least initially. Sometime after the bike is sitting the amplifier turns on and stays on which is draining my battery. Even with the remote wire completely unhooked, the amp is staying on and i was reading battery voltage at the remote pin at the amp. This is a strange one and is driving me crazy. When the amp decides to stay on, it's drawing around 900mA, which obviously will kill the battery pretty quick. Amp seems to work fine otherwise, tunes sound good and all that. What's strange to me is that the amp turns on by itself after the bike is sitting. Why in the world would this be happening unless the amp itself has an internal short or there is some inductive path somewhere else causing it to activate. Before I go and swap another amp, just wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue or would have any clue what could be causing this. Any help appreciated, thanks in advance.

-Mitch

Old 04-26-2022, 05:19 PM
hamah
Road Warrior
Received 369 Likes on 280 Posts