Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Swap bars to apes? Recommendations?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2018, 09:07 AM
WVMountie07
Intermediate
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Swap bars to apes? Recommendations?

I'm considering swapping my drag bars out for some ape hangers in the future for my '12 Fat Bob. As a newbie, I'm pretty clueless to how I should even approach this. I'm 5'9, so I'm not sure where I should begin on height? Also, if anyone can ballpark the costs of "everything else" that goes into a bar swap, I'd really appreciate it!

Old 07-19-2018, 01:40 PM
TWilson_
Advanced
Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts

I can't help much on the cost of extended cables, wires, etc. for apes as I haven't had to do that. Lucked out with the previous owner taking that hit. But for an idea on height, I am 6'3" and have 14" bars with the factory FXDB risers. Hands are right at shoulder height for me. I downsized from the 16" apes the previous owner had on it. When you start shopping for bars, you'll see measurements for height, width, pullback, end rise, and some others. Google "handlebar measurements" and you will see what each of these refer to. Just be prepared that it is not nearly as simple as it seems. Good luck!

Old 07-19-2018, 02:36 PM
tcazes
Tourer
Received 47 Likes on 40 Posts

i have the factory fxdb apes, one piece top tree and the risers on them...if interested!

Old 07-19-2018, 10:52 PM
archergodwin
Elite HDF Member
Received 148 Likes on 127 Posts

Cost varies too much to give you a ballpark. Depends on what you want to do really. Stock cables or switch to Barnett's or Magnum's... internally wired?... fat or regular.

I'm 5'9" and have 10.5 mini 1.25dia apes on 4" risers, and it's perfect.

Old 07-20-2018, 06:48 PM
Tall Timber
Road Warrior
Received 425 Likes on 259 Posts