Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

10,000 mile service $ question

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2007, 08:19 PM
jeffbcn
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 10,000 mile service $ question

10,000 mile service on my 06 Wide Glide:
A local Dealer (Southern California)quoted me $565.00 + $30.00 for Syn III in all 3 holes. Reasonable? I asked about redline shockproof for the tranny and they said to bring it in and they would use it..
While I'm not Mechanically Retarded, I'm not a Mechanic either, so I'm not inclined to do it myself. I would like to find a dealer I can trust, like I have with my mechanic for my Pick Up.
I've decided to go with Synthetic after reading several posts over the last few months and other that Redline Shockproof, I haven't seen any real strong preferences. What is Syn III ?
Any advice?

Old 08-24-2007, 08:49 PM
Splatter
Road Master
Default RE: 10,000 mile service $ question

Syn-3 is Harley's recommended synthetic hybrid (part synthetic, part dino) oil. It's good; you won't have any problems with it. Oil afficianados prefer full synthetic. It's a personal choice.

The 10K service is very expensive -- about twice the cost of the 5K or the 1K. Many people here will recommend you do it yourself. I'm not comfortable recommending that to anyone unless I know how good a mechanic they are. When the book says, "Inspect drive belt." do you know what you're looking for? Would you feel better if you knew someone who sees a dozen drive belts a day looked at it for you? If so, maybe you should let 'em.