Another dang brake light issue... - Harley Davidson Forums

Notices
Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

Another dang brake light issue...

 
  #1  
Old 02-11-2019, 02:05 PM
ER-Thumper
ER-Thumper is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bridge City, TX
Posts: 61
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Another dang brake light issue...

I've searched the forums & tried everything that's already been suggested.
'09 Ultra with led all around.
Brake lights stay on, but turn signals & cruise control work

When you hit front or rear brake the turn signals flash like normal (has the flasher when the brakes are hit). If hold either front or rear brake & hit the other, turn signals do NOT flash a 2nd time.

Tried pulling wires from rear switch (no change)
pulled relay (no change)
changed relay (no change)
opened up clam shell & messed with front switch (no change)

Now what??????
Thanks in advance fellas.
 

Last edited by ER-Thumper; 02-11-2019 at 02:27 PM.
  #2  
Old 02-11-2019, 03:34 PM
skinman13's Avatar
skinman13
skinman13 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,991
Thanked 62 Times in 60 Posts
Default

Did this just start happening one day or start up after you did something?
Have you tried taking the run/turn/brake module out of the loop?
Will the system work in the stock configuration with stock lamps?
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-2019, 03:58 PM
Zanthamos's Avatar
Zanthamos
Zanthamos is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 1,000
Thanked 111 Times in 109 Posts
Default

Is it just the center brake light bulb or is it all 3 rear bulbs staying on all the time? If it is just the rear tail light bulb then check to ensure that it is connected in the socket in the correct direction. One of the little nipples on the 1157 connector that holds the bulb connector in place is higher than the other but some OP may have forced a bulb in backwards and caused it to go loose enough to put the bulb connector in backwards. If it is all three then most likely culprit is the RTB module.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-2019, 05:05 PM
Vernal's Avatar
Vernal
Vernal is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 3,740
Thanked 413 Times in 333 Posts
Default

Do you have a load equalizer? If so can you check input vs output?
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-2019, 05:42 PM
ER-Thumper
ER-Thumper is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bridge City, TX
Posts: 61
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It just started happening one day, not sure how long it’s been that way. We were out on a ride one day and one of the guys told me about it. I don’t have the stock lights, bike had the led fixture when I bought it.
Didn’t take the run/stop module out of loop, but I wouldn’t think the switch is bad since the lights flash if I hit it. Also can hear the relay click on / off when squeeze / release lever.

All 4 lights are staying on, except turn signals blink on & off when engaged.

No load stabilizer as far as I know, but never had this issue in past. Every light on the bike is led fixture, not just bulb replacement.
 
  #6  
Old 02-11-2019, 08:06 PM
Vernal's Avatar
Vernal
Vernal is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 3,740
Thanked 413 Times in 333 Posts
Default

The first thing I would do is take the Brake flasher out and see if the problem goes away, hopefully it's plug and play.
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-2019, 10:34 PM
ER-Thumper
ER-Thumper is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bridge City, TX
Posts: 61
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Is brake flasher & brake relay same thing? If not, where’s flasher located?
 
  #8  
Old 02-11-2019, 11:26 PM
Vernal's Avatar
Vernal
Vernal is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 3,740
Thanked 413 Times in 333 Posts
Default

Under the seat near the rear fender is where the connector for the rear lights should be. My flasher hooks up there.
 
  #9  
Old 02-12-2019, 08:04 AM
ER-Thumper
ER-Thumper is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bridge City, TX
Posts: 61
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Harness comes through fender & plugs into another harness that’s going straight into the ecm (I think)


Harness coming out of fender & plugs into other harness

Other harness goes directly into the red block on top of ecm
 
  #10  
Old 02-12-2019, 08:40 AM
Vernal's Avatar
Vernal
Vernal is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 3,740
Thanked 413 Times in 333 Posts
Default

Don't think the stock bike comes with anything on top of the ECM, the red and blue components are after market and may be your flasher and Load equalizer. Look them over for part #'s or manufacturer.








 

Last edited by Vernal; 02-12-2019 at 08:44 AM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: