Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

cam advance, richen 2008 flhr

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2008, 09:57 AM
gregsdart
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking cam advance, richen 2008 flhr

I would like to advance the stock cam in my 2008 road king. I also want to richen it up to proper afr for best power and mileage. Anyone have info on where to get a cam sprocket to advance the cam 4 degrees, and some type of tuning unit to richen the mixture? I am new to harleys ,but love the bike. It just needs a little TLC to make it right!!

Old 09-14-2008, 11:37 AM
new_mentor70
Tourer

Go to Woodcarbs.com to find the advance sprockets.

you may just want to recam it while your at it.

between that and a fuel tuner it will run alot cooler.

the Power commander III is the most popular. but I think the ThunderMax auto tunning products are more rewarding in the long run.

Old 09-14-2008, 08:46 PM
Dalton
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I have been building automotive race engines since I could reach the top of my dad's toolbox, and bike engines for years. I still never quite understand why people want to advance a cam that is set up to perform in a certain way.
If you are going to open up the cam chest, do a little research and find a cam that will perform in the way you want. HQ 500, Wood 6, Andrewws 26 are all nice drop ins that will give you nice gains, not hurt mileage and are good choices for stock compression, and will handle future mods up to about a 10.0:1 build. All will out perform the stock cam with a 4 degree advance.

As far as tuning, for a mild build, lots use the PC III and it does an adequate job, but for true tuning capabilities check out the SERT, DTT TCFI III or Thundermax, depending on what you will to accomplish and your skill level with a laptop.

Old 09-15-2008, 12:07 AM
gregsdart
Cruiser