Forum changes/rewrites hyper-links? - Harley Davidson Forums

Go Back  Harley Davidson Forums > General Harley Davidson Forums > Forum Issues
Reload this Page >

Forum changes/rewrites hyper-links?

Notices
Forum Issues Discuss any issues you are having with the Harley Davidson Forum software here.

Forum changes/rewrites hyper-links?

  #1  
Old 11-26-2018, 01:48 PM
LQQK_OUT's Avatar
LQQK_OUT
LQQK_OUT is offline
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 1,858
Thanked 159 Times in 139 Posts
Default Forum changes/rewrites hyper-links?

I've posted responses to questions with embeded links and have noticed that occasionally the software re-writes the web links? Am I doing something wrong?
For instance, here is a link to the Cycle Gear tire install service, but the link gets re-written when you click on it. Why is that?
The link should go to: "https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service"

Cycle Gear
 

Last edited by LQQK_OUT; 11-26-2018 at 01:51 PM.
  #2  
Old 11-27-2018, 10:03 AM
Tom84FXST's Avatar
Tom84FXST
Tom84FXST is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Olive Branch,MS
Posts: 7,301
Thanked 1,094 Times in 705 Posts
Default

If you hover you mouse over the link and look at the bottom of the page...you can see it is indeed "https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service"

That website is forcing you to go to the main page...from there you can navigate to tire service
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-2018, 10:31 AM
LQQK_OUT's Avatar
LQQK_OUT
LQQK_OUT is offline
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 1,858
Thanked 159 Times in 139 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tom84FXST View Post
If you hover you mouse over the link and look at the bottom of the page...you can see it is indeed "https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service"
Yep, I noticed that.


Originally Posted by Tom84FXST View Post
That website is forcing you to go to the main page...from there you can navigate to tire service
I don't think that is what is happening. I believe the forum software is rewriting certain weblinks. I can highlight the following sentence in the post
"https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service"
Hit paste and go via my web browser (Google Chrome) and it takes me to the correct web page.
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-2018, 04:17 PM
LQQK_OUT's Avatar
LQQK_OUT
LQQK_OUT is offline
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 1,858
Thanked 159 Times in 139 Posts
Default

Does someone from IB actually provides answers to questions in this section or is it for other members of the forum to try and provide the answers? Is there a specific place one should post a forum software question to?
 
  #5  
Old 11-28-2018, 11:32 PM
IzzoQuazzo's Avatar
IzzoQuazzo
IzzoQuazzo is offline
MODERATOR
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 15,156
Thanked 1,817 Times in 768 Posts
Default

I will pass the info up. I have no clue as to what you're talking about.
 
  #6  
Old 11-28-2018, 11:48 PM
TwiZted Biker's Avatar
TwiZted Biker
TwiZted Biker is offline
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Niles Canyon Ca.
Posts: 40,717
Thanked 4,313 Times in 2,546 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by IzzoQuazzo View Post
I will pass the info up. I have no clue as to what you're talking about.
It's like when you copy a link to a specific item on amazon or another site and you paste it in the post and you see the full address, hit the submit button and now the links been shortened to just Amazon. Been doing it for quite a while, isn't new.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to TwiZted Biker For This Useful Post:
Uncle Larry (11-29-2018)
  #7  
Old 11-29-2018, 04:51 AM
sloufoot's Avatar
sloufoot
sloufoot is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chubbuck Idaho
Posts: 16,107
Thanked 1,302 Times in 1,189 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LQQK_OUT View Post
I've posted responses to questions with embeded links and have noticed that occasionally the software re-writes the web links? Am I doing something wrong?
For instance, here is a link to the Cycle Gear tire install service, but the link gets re-written when you click on it. Why is that?
The link should go to: "https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service"

Cycle Gear
Does that bother you for some reason ?
The site software for some reason shortens up the reference when you post a link. But the link is really still there. It will till take you to the intended location on the web or wherever you copied the link from. Many addresses on the web would take up any where from 2 lines of code to at times might extend to 8 to 10 lines of gibberish. It depends how deep you are into some web site. If you follow the worm hole clicking from one page to another without backing out from a page on a site, it will copy the entire route you took to get there. Why do you want to look at that anyway.?
Here is what this one looks like. You can see it all if you right click on the link and select "inspect element". It will appear at the bottom of your page.::

<a data-cke-saved-href="&quot;https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service&quot;" href="&quot;https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service&quot;">Cycle Gear</a>

As far as someplace to ask software questions you can ask them right here and we will try and answer your question. If we can't we turn in the question to the Mgnt. for an explanation and will let you know what we find out.
Hope this answers your question.
Sloufoot
 

Last edited by sloufoot; 11-29-2018 at 05:03 AM.
  #8  
Old 11-29-2018, 05:27 PM
LQQK_OUT's Avatar
LQQK_OUT
LQQK_OUT is offline
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 1,858
Thanked 159 Times in 139 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sloufoot View Post
Does that bother you for some reason ?
The site software for some reason shortens up the reference when you post a link. But the link is really still there. It will till take you to the intended location on the web or wherever you copied the link from. Many addresses on the web would take up any where from 2 lines of code to at times might extend to 8 to 10 lines of gibberish. It depends how deep you are into some web site. If you follow the worm hole clicking from one page to another without backing out from a page on a site, it will copy the entire route you took to get there. Why do you want to look at that anyway.?
Here is what this one looks like. You can see it all if you right click on the link and select "inspect element". It will appear at the bottom of your page.::

<a data-cke-saved-href="&quot;https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service&quot;" href="&quot;https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service&quot;">Cycle Gear</a>

As far as someplace to ask software questions you can ask them right here and we will try and answer your question. If we can't we turn in the question to the Mgnt. for an explanation and will let you know what we find out.
Hope this answers your question.
Sloufoot
It's not really answering my question. The issue is why is the webserver re-writing the link? I'm guessing it has something to do with VigLink.
Here's a simple way to test what I am talking about.
1. Create a new post in the Forum testing area
In the new post, create a link to "https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service"
2. Before you submit the new post, "Preview Changes"
3. In the Preview Area, clink on the link
4. Save Changes
5. Go to just submitted post, and now clink on the link. Notice any differences?

6. You can now also, re-edit the post
7. Preview changes
8. Click on the link -> it now works again.
9. Save changes
10. Go to post again, click on link and again the link is changed.

The webserver is re-writing the link, but when I edit/create on the client side, it works.
 
  #9  
Old 11-29-2018, 05:34 PM
LQQK_OUT's Avatar
LQQK_OUT
LQQK_OUT is offline
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 1,858
Thanked 159 Times in 139 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sloufoot View Post
You can see it all if you right click on the link and select "inspect element". It will appear at the bottom of your page.::

<a data-cke-saved-href="&quot;https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service&quot;" href="&quot;https://www.cyclegear.com/tire-install-service&quot;">Cycle Gear</a>
That's a great tip! Thank you.
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: