Frame/Suspension/Front End/Brakes Discussions for your ride comfort and braking power.

Lesson learned about brake fluid & old habits

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2009, 11:19 AM
duoglider
Road Warrior
Received 300 Likes on 181 Posts
Default Lessons in brake fluid, vodka & old habits-sorry this is long

I've been riding bikes for almost 40 years. Done a lot of wrenching; rebuilt an old Honda once, assembled a Bultaco from a foot locker full of engine parts, a shop manual, and an empty frame, spent many years in the sport of dirt racing and did all my mechanical work out of an airconditioned trailer in the race pits. So flushing brakes, replacing pads, rotors, etc is old stuff. During the last ten years of the dirt racing days I had a brake sponsorship so I would change brake fluid and brake pads before every race. We raced every other Sunday...a 50 mile off road course on Honda XR600's...two bikes - one set up for sand and the other for hard dirt & rocks. So the mechanical goal was to keep the bikes bullet proof. My routine was to add some food coloring to the new brake fluid ( DOT 4) so I could easily see when the fresh fluid made it to the bleeder valve, alternating red and green with each brake flush.
These days I have two bikes in my garage...a BMW touring bike that uses Dot 4 and a Road King that uses Dot 5. So earlier this week I had set aside some after work time to flush the brakes on the bikes. I started with the BMW, drained the front master cylinder with a large syringe, filled with fresh Dot 4, added a few drops of red food coloring, and bled the brakes till fresh red fluid flowed from the valves. Then I moved on to the 03 Road King, and started on the front brakes.