General Topics/Tech Tips Discussion on break in periods, rider comfort, seats and pad suggestions. Tech tips as they become available will be posted here.

Inner primary bearing bad

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2019, 12:04 AM
Salmo pass
Cruiser
Received 33 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Inner primary bearing bad

I thought i heard a different sound last week. Went on a 1200 mile 3 day ride. Around 800 miles in it was worse. By the time i got home it was really noisy. 2009 ultra all stock. 42000 miles. I change all oils every 3-4k miles. I have never done this job before. Finished tonight 5 hrs total. Had access to jims puller snd installer. Pic of inner race below

Old 07-17-2019, 09:15 PM
Salmo pass
Cruiser

Both the compensator bolt and clutch pak nut were tight but not overly difficult

i had a really good look at the compensator and clutch pak. No signs of wear at all it looked good. I cleaned the springs inside the compensator all okay nothing broken

I fabricated a spacer with two washers prior to pushing new race on. I think on the 2009 there is a step on the shaft. It felt like it. After is i was up against my spacers i remived them and tried to give a little more was not going to move

once i reinstalled the inner primary you can see in the picture the race oiling oil for the inner race. I filled that cavity a couple of times to see how quickly the oil drains. If you are getting oil here and the passage is clear i am pretty sure the race is well lubed. That passage is a good size i think it would take a lot to plug it

i struggled a bit getting the drivetrain reinstalled as one piece. It has to be pretty square in order to slide on

took it for a ride got up to temperature and it sounds brand new. Whew

The following users liked this post:
OakMountainRider (07-30-2020)
Old 07-17-2019, 10:16 PM
Max Headflow
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,252 Likes on 3,626 Posts