General Topics/Tech Tips Discussion on break in periods, rider comfort, seats and pad suggestions. Tech tips as they become available will be posted here.

Laptop commuting issue

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2008, 12:51 PM
DavidKillion
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Laptop commuting issue

I'm new to biking and am in the process of finding the right Dyna Low Rider for me. I do not want to put saddlebags on the bike, I feel it takes away from the appearance. However, I have a Lenovo (IBM) laptop (as well as some other small things) that I need to get to and from work. I would rather not wear a backback - I think they are incredibly uncomfortable.

So ... I'm looking at this 2003 FXDL the other day and the guy selling it shows me his Tamarack bag that sits on the back seat and has vecro straps that wrap around the sissy bar back rest. The best part about it was that it worked as a back-rest for the rider as well. The bad part about this bag (which he agreed to throw into the deal) is that it is not designed for a laptop, and rather has all these little compartments to put little things in ... nothing big enough for a Lenovo laptop. I have considered having the wife tear the bag apart and sew it back together with new compartments (yes, she's wonderful isn't she?). But it would be be better if there was a solution already available.

Does anybody know of anything like this?

Last edited by DavidKillion; 10-25-2008 at 12:55 PM.
Old 10-27-2008, 10:00 PM
dstegjas
Tourer
Received 39 Likes on 21 Posts

David,
I have also been trying to find something for my laptop to fit in while on the bike. My one concern has been about the vibration from the pack sitting directly on the bike. I am wondering if it may be to much for the laptop and cause a hard drive failure. So I have been concidering a backpack. It wouldn't be my first choice either but I may have to concider it.

Jim

Old 10-28-2008, 04:11 AM
btroy
Cruiser