road king special bars - Harley Davidson Forums

Notices
Milwaukee Eight (M8) 2017 and up M8 Air and Liquid Cooled discussion

road king special bars

  #1  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:35 PM
Isler
Isler is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default road king special bars

if I could get some help I have a 2018 road king special and I am getting new bars put on they are road six custom standard apes website says 13 inch will work with no extra cost in cables dealer ship is telling me will not work without extensions so I called road six and they said no problem has anybody put 13 inch bars without extensions thank you in advance for your help
 
  #2  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:55 PM
Ben221
Ben221 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Glen Mills, PA
Posts: 1,380
Thanks: 0
Thanked 125 Times in 80 Posts
Default

I canít confirm but know the width can make a difference. Are the new ones wider?
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-2019, 10:45 PM
Jay_FLHXS's Avatar
Jay_FLHXS
Jay_FLHXS is online now
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Murrells Inlet, SC
Posts: 95
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

You're probably going to have to get an Indie to install them if you don't want to purchase the extra cables. My dealer wouldn't install 14" bars on my SGS even though the stock cables would work. Anything over 12" bars on my bike and they wouldn't do it without them. They wouldn't reroute cables where they aren't already located in a stock position.
 
  #4  
Old 01-12-2019, 08:41 PM
uriel's Avatar
uriel
uriel is offline
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 80
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

They will work. I installed the exact same one's on my 18 Roadking. Brake and clutch are a little tight but they will reach. A few adjustments on banjo fittings will help with length. I avoid dealer service at all costs if possible. It's not a difficult job just very time consuming. With a service manual and a little patience and research it is a doable diy install. Especially since a cables reach. Good luck!
 
  #5  
Old 01-13-2019, 09:17 AM
SavageChopper
SavageChopper is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Savage
Posts: 369
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Default

You may have to get CANBUS extension cables. I put a riser kit from Harley on mine and everything reached fine except the CANBUS needed to be rerouted until I could get extensions. Throttle cables were plenty long.
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: