Notices
New "Rushmore" Models This Section Is For 2014 And Future Rushmore Models Only
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fairing Power Port ??

 
  #1  
Old 09-29-2015, 09:18 AM
Lilman's Avatar
Lilman
Lilman is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 584
Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Fairing Power Port ??

Thought I would get more traction in here than the TG forum and the fairings are the same.


Anyone use the factory fairing power port?


Getting ready for our first multi-week trip and I was planning on using the power port for my GPS (like my Garmin much better than factory!), plus GoPro power when using it.


However, there is just not enough room! With forks turned all the way right (something common for us 3-wheelers), there is only about 1/2 inch clearance between the tank and power port. Nowhere near enough to plug anything in.


Everyone else have the same issue?


Have to take the outer off anyway, guess I'll have to add a port somewhere else......


Thanks,


Lilman
 

Last edited by Lilman; 09-29-2015 at 09:19 AM. Reason: text
  #2  
Old 09-29-2015, 10:00 AM
Stella456
Stella456 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have a Cobra dash cam that came with a power plug that has about a 45 degree bend in it and it fits the power port on my 2014 trike. Perhaps you could buy this power plug and adapt it to your GPS and GoPro. Here's the web site for the plug.
https://www.cobra.com/products/dash-cam/cdr840-cig
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-2015, 11:20 AM
zoozoo's Avatar
zoozoo
zoozoo is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14,120
Received 4,068 Likes on 2,009 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Lilman View Post
Thought I would get more traction in here than the TG forum and the fairings are the same.


Anyone use the factory fairing power port?


Getting ready for our first multi-week trip and I was planning on using the power port for my GPS (like my Garmin much better than factory!), plus GoPro power when using it.


However, there is just not enough room! With forks turned all the way right (something common for us 3-wheelers), there is only about 1/2 inch clearance between the tank and power port. Nowhere near enough to plug anything in.


Everyone else have the same issue?


Have to take the outer off anyway, guess I'll have to add a port somewhere else......


Thanks,


Lilman
When I had my 2010 FLHTCUI the power plug that came with my Garmin was to long to use so I bought a shorter one with a bent angle to it that worked. Got it off ebay.
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-2015, 01:04 PM
bill_1202
bill_1202 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 745
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Hog tunes CIG-USB Charger

I use this CIG-USB Charger I bought at Hogtunes.com. Works great.

http://hogtunes.com/products/acc.html

Scroll down to the bottom in this link.
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-2015, 01:09 PM
Lilman's Avatar
Lilman
Lilman is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 584
Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Thanks guys! Maybe I can find something in your suggestions!
 
  #6  
Old 09-29-2015, 02:15 PM
bigdumbnoitall00's Avatar
bigdumbnoitall00
bigdumbnoitall00 is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,897
Received 157 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

i also use usb with a flush adapter.
 
  #7  
Old 09-29-2015, 06:55 PM
dontdropit's Avatar
dontdropit
dontdropit is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,524
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
  #8  
Old 09-30-2015, 01:54 PM
Lilman's Avatar
Lilman
Lilman is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 584
Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Thanks!


dondropit I did already see your post and may go your route except with a power port.


I found a flush USB power device I can use for my GoPro in the fairing. That issue solved.


My GPS however is a Garmin Dezl (truckers GPS) and by using a regular USB cable for power, I lose all the real time traffic functions whose antenna is built into the factory power cable.


Searching now locally for a water-tight power port. (If work will leave me alone long enough!)
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Lilman
Tri Glide & Freewheeler Models
4
02-10-2017 05:14 PM
Lilman
Tri Glide & Freewheeler Models
4
03-05-2016 07:16 AM
Lilman
Tri Glide & Freewheeler Models
17
01-13-2016 07:35 PM
Lilman
Touring Models
17
12-14-2015 09:35 PM
Lilman
Tri Glide & Freewheeler Models
17
10-25-2015 08:45 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Fairing Power Port ??


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: