Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

Clunking noise in primary diagnosis

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2020, 12:53 PM
feeohlee
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clunking noise in primary diagnosis

Full disclosure I’m no expert wrench. This project was big for me but I broke it down into baby steps and watched countless videos and read dozens of forums to make it manageable, but I guess I messed something up along the way. I have a 2014 FXDF Fat Bob, which I converted from forward controls to mid controls over the winter. This of course involved replacing the primary covers. When I re-assembled the primary I torqued the compensator and clutch to spec. I had the chain tensioner cinched with zip ties when it was off to keep it secured, and when I put it back on it seemed to be appropriate tension. I sealed up the primary cover and put new oil in.

The good news is bike runs and shifts properly. The bad news is when I started the bike today for the first time since the project, there was a clunking in the primary at idle. It is a very loud and clear intermittent clunking at idle. I rode the bike very short distance and I can’t say if it is happening or not at speed because I didn’t hear it but it may have been drowned out by the engine/exhaust noise.

I used blue loctite on the compensator but (facepalm, I know now that red is recommended). From my research it sounds like the noise could likely be a loose compensator nut. Perhaps I didn’t torque it properly? Or the blue loctite failed and it came lose already? If that is the case, could that happen instantly? Because as I said, this sound immediacy started on the first start after re-assembly.