Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My Jackpot Experience

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2009, 09:56 AM
cbears
Road Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My Jackpot Experience

First of all, I'm a complete NOOB at doing this so this will be from a beginners point of view.

I got the Jackpots/PCV/SEAC package put on yesterday morning. It took me about 3 1/2 hours but I went VERY slowly so I didn't F someting up. A couple of notes about the installation:

1. I couldn't figure out how to get the wiring to fit in front of the battery so I put it in the space under the right side cover. I took the battery cover off so the connectors would slide over there. I still put the PCV unit on top of the old unit as the instructions say.

2. I had one heck of a time getting the old clamps to slide on to the end of the new mufflers but after a bit of coaxing, they finally went. I had to pry them open until the bolt was holding them apart, then used a set of channel locks to push the bolt back down into the hole. I'm lucky I didn't booger up the threads on the bolt.

3. I had no experience with doing this sort of thing. I took me a few minutes to figure out how to get the old wiring connection loose. There is a gray handle that has to be slid back, then the connections just come apart.

4. I had a bit of leaking around where the slipons connect to the header pipes. I had read about this here on the forum and I should have bought some of the sealer to use but I did not (I'm a bonehead, get some before you start the project). When I get some sealant, I'm going to seal both of them so the leak stops. It's not a bad leak but I can feel air.