Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bouncing Handlebar at Idle

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2009, 12:28 PM
sfl111rml
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bouncing Handlebar at Idle

Good to be a member of the forum. I have been riding for 43 years on all kinds of motorcycles with various engine configurations. Probably have owned and ridden 30 motorcycles. I bought an '07 Road King Police with 27,500 miles on it about a month ago. I've put about 1200 mile on it now and have a question about the only complaint I have with this bike. At idle at a traffic light, the handlebar bounces up and down. It's irritating. All my riding career I have kept my hands on the handlebar at a traffic light and this is the only bike I have owned that does this. I know its a big 45 degree twin, etc. and everyone says this is "just what they do" and "live with it." Dealer checked the bike over and there are no problems with the bike. I can raise the idle slightly with the throttle and there is no bouncing but I know this is not what I am supposed to do. How will I get used to this without it making me a nervous wreck at every red traffic light?

Sam

Old 10-19-2009, 12:33 PM
07RoadHawg
Road Warrior
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Like everyone says, that's what a rubber mounted engine does. If you can't learn to accept (and love it like we do) that as normal for them, you could always get a rigid mount "B" softail or go to a metric.

Old 10-19-2009, 12:39 PM
vistavette
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 183 Likes on 129 Posts

There is nothing you can do as far as I know about it at idle. If its happening while riding then you may have an issue.

Old 10-19-2009, 12:39 PM
shortride
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by sfl111rml